Another Blog

College kind of killed my love of reading.

Don’t get me wrong; I loved college, and I loved being an English major.  But when you’re reading roughly 600 pages a week, often of dense text, and then thinking about it and writing about it and discussing it until you practically dream about it…the last thing you want to do when you have free time is read some more.

Lately, though, I’ve been doing a lot of reading.  Being underemployed, I have a lot of time, a lot of stress, and not a lot of money, and books fill all those holes.  They’re free (at least at the library), and they take me out of the place I’m in, transporting me to other places and other lives. Fiction, fantasy, mysteries, memoirs, biographies, even some straight-up nonfiction informational tomes…I’ve been devouring them all lately, and they’ve reminded me that when no one is assigning the text or grading my interpretation, I just plain love reading.

I also run across a lot of neat book-related links as part of my job with The Learned Owl. Since I’m starting to plan for my move to grad school, in (please, I’m praying hard) another state, it suddenly occurred to me that I’ll miss being exposed to all that interesting stuff.  All this is a long way of saying that I decided to start this blog.

I don’t intend for it to have much of a theme beyond books; I’ll read and enjoy most anything, which is why I decided on the name Armchair Omnivore.  Maybe no one but my mom will ever read it, but that’s ok.  I just want a place to talk about whatever it is I’m reading at the moment, especially if I like it. So here we go…let the reading begin 🙂

Leave a Reply

